Outdoor Living

Happy Memorial Day!  It’s feeling a lot like summer here in Virginia, so it’s off to the pool for us.  First we’ll squeeze in some t-ball practice before it gets too hot, though.  Then, tonight dinner outside on the deck.   The kids love eating dinner outside and as long as the weather cooperates I love it, too.  Recently I was invited to dinner at a friend’s house and we dined in her beautiful screened in porch.  It got me itching to get our deck and screened in area cleaned up (and fancied up) a bit.

I had a solid piece to work with already.  The chesapeake sectional from Pottery Barn:

Unfortunately, when I bought mine the seat cushions weren’t slipcovers, but simply sewed on.  After a few years of  occasional rain and wind (maybe I should put one of those outdoor boxes on my list?) they have gotten moldy and weathered.  Since I can’t take off the covers and wash them it’s time for a new set.  I’m thinking Sunbrella Mocha.   Nothing says party like stain resistant fabric!

For side tables I could always check Home Goods (oh how I love that place), but there are a couple great options online, too.  Love this pebble side table from West Elm.  Maybe for the same reason I like the Sunbrella fabric.  It just feels indestructable.

Or a classic wicker table with a twist- bronze paint in an hourglass shape

Now, the piece de resistance this awesome rug from Ballard Designs….

I bought the gray one a couple of weeks ago and it transforms the deck.  I only wish I had waited a little while since the entire site is 15% off through tomorrow!!  Check out their outdoor offerings here

Check back for the reveal (hee hee) in a couple of weeks.  Hopefully I’ll get it set up by 4th of July!

Now, for some inspiration.  Ahhhhh……

Leave a comment